The Wrong Stars Shortlisted for the Philip K Dick Award

The Wrong Stars by AR author Tim Pratt

WHOOOOT!!!! Sound the good news alarms, release the d̶e̶a̶t̶h̶ joy drones and set party phasers to ‘stun’ because Tim Pratt‘s The Wrong Stars has been shortlisted for this year’s Philip K Dick Award!

The Wrong Stars follows a ragtag crew of the ship the White Raven, as they discover an alien technology that could change the fate of humanity, or unleash an ancient evil which could destroy all life in the galaxy.

Here’s the official synopsis:

The shady crew of the White Raven run freight and salvage at the fringes of our solar system. They discover the wreck of a centuries-old exploration vessel floating light years away from its intended destination and revive its sole occupant, who wakes with news of First Alien Contact. When the crew break it to her that humanity has alien allies already, she reveals that these are very different extra-terrestrials… and the gifts they bestowed on her could kill all humanity, or take it out to the most distant stars.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback in the US during the previous calendar year. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust.

The winner of the award will be announced at NorwesCon41, which takes place in Seattle March 29 – April 1 2018.

The Wrong Stars continues the streak of Angry Robot title shortlisted for the Philip K Dick Award. Last year it was Graft by Matt Hill and in 2016 Windswept by Adam Rakunas was shortlisted with Ramez Naam‘s Apex taking the win. Previous shortlisted titles include Rod Duncan‘s The Bullet-Catcher’s Daughter (2015) and Cassandra Rose Clark‘s The Mad Scientist’s Daughter (2013).

You may also like

Leave a comment