SKU: AR9780857661913 Categories: , , , Tags:

City of Light and Shadow

by: Ian Whates


“A deft mix of intrigue, assassination and romance culminates in a desperate fight for Thaiburley’s existence, and along the way Whates finally reveals the true nature of the city itself. Compulsively readable.”
The Guardian

The Monstrous Rust Warriors are Back! Street-nick Tom, Dewar the Assassin, and the Prime Master reach the ends of their journeys, but who will survive?

File Under: Fantasy [ Sick Society | Dejected Leaders | Secret Powers | Rust Warriors! ]

The Third Book in the City of a Hundred Rows Series


THE MONSTROUS RUST WARRIORS ARE BACK! In a land struggling to cope with the onset of the fatal bone flu, street-nick Tom and Kat – the leader of the Tattooed Men – must find a way to dispatch both threats. Meanwhile, the Soul Thief is still at large, and still killing…
Publication date



Angry Robot Books


Angry Robot


City of a Hundred Rows

Cover Art

Greg Bridges ;

City of Light and Shadow

Paperback, Ebook

Paperback ISBN




Ian Whates lives in a comfortable home down a quiet cul-de-sac in an idyllic Cambridgeshire village, which he shares with his partner Helen and their pets – Honey the golden cocker spaniel, Calvin the tailless black cat and Inky the goldfish (sadly, Binky died a few years ago).

Ian’s love of science fiction began while he was still at school, manifesting itself when he produced an SF murder mystery as homework after being set the essay title “The Language of Shakespeare”, much to the bemusement of his English teacher. Also while at school, Ian was awarded The Lord Mayor’s Prize for English, in a competition open to all the schools in London. His first published stories appeared in the late 1980s, but it was not until the early 2000s that he began to pursue writing with any seriousness, joining the Northampton SF Writers Group in 2004 after being introduced to its chairman, Ian Watson. In 2006 Ian launched independent publisher NewCon Press, quite by accident. That same year he also resumed submitting short stories, selling some 25 to various venues by the time May 2008 arrived, including two to the science journal Nature. Another story, “The Gift of Joy”, even found its way onto the shortlist for the BSFA Awards in 2008… and it didn’t come last! This success surprised the author even more than the awards and accolades accumulated by his various NewCon Press anthologies. Ian is currently a director of the British Science Fiction Association and has chaired the organisation since Spring 2008. He also served a term as the Regional Overseas Director of the Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) before stepping down in 2010.

“Adventures in a nightmare citadel – a story that hits the ground running
and doesn’t let up.”
Liz Williams, author of the Detective Inspector Chen series

“Born story-teller Ian Whates takes us on a gripping, terrifying trip-of-a-lifetime, through the heights and depths of the exotically grim city of Thaiburley, in this excellent fantasy thriller.”
– World Fantasy Award-winning author, Tanith Lee

“…the fast pace and plentiful action scenes make for a very entertaining story … It’s one of those books you blaze though in a day or two.”
Val’s Random Comments

You may also like…