Nekropolis / Tim Waggoner

“It’s hard to say if this singular novel, which boasts a wicked sense of humor to round off the horror, should be eligible for an Edgar Award or a Bram Stoker or both.”

– Elliot Swanson, Booklist

nekropolis-rough30cm-72dpiMeet Matt Richter. Private eye. Zombie.

His mean streets are the city of the dead, the shadowy realm known as Nekropolis. In this first case, Richter must help a delectable half-vampire named Devona recover a legendary artifact known as the Dawnstone, before it’s used to destroy Nekropolis itself. That is, if he can survive the myriad horrors that infest the city itself.

Pulp and proud, cracking wise like we just dug up the rotting corpse of Dashiell Hammett and put him back to work at his typewriter, Nekropolis is just the first of a trio of fabulous urban fantasies from the mighty Tim Waggoner.

Originally published as a limited run novella, the expanded Nekropolis is the definitive version of this massively entertaining series opener.

In the same series: Dead Streets

More praise…

“Waggoner introduces zombie PI Matthew Richter and his hometown of Nekropolis, the city of the dead, in this imaginative, morbidly witty, and frightening series launch. Vivid description and characterization, as well as a complex, intricately crafted setting reminiscent of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter universe, keep the pages turning at a rapid rate as Richter embarks on an enthralling tour of the dead city, from the vampire-filled streets of Gothtown to the bustling clubs and seedy dives of the Manhattanlike Sprawl. Both horror and mystery readers will be delighted by this horror-noir adventure.”

- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“College writing teacher and established tie-in novelist Waggoner uses his experience creating tales for fans of Stargate SG-1, Xena Warrior Princess and other TV hits to capture the charms of fantasy TV – well-paced episodes, powerful hooks and engaging characters – on paper. His zombie detective Matt Richter is a likeable protagonist, and the world of Nekropolis is so charmingly and convincingly envisioned that, a couple of days later, I found myself doodling costume designs for the show. If vampires with a romantic penchant for ordinary human girls have been done to death, a zombie with a heart of gold might just be the Next Big Thing.”

- Death Ray

“[Nekropolis] is an atmospheric and exciting mystery.”

- SF Site

“It’s a classic. If you’re a fan of Simon R. Green, who does a series very much like this one, you’ll especially enjoy Necropolis. It’s a horror spoof done with a sense of wit and pulp detective done tongue-in-cheek. Sam Spade, watch out. There’s a slow-footed zombie creeping up on you!”

- Bewildering Stories

“This is a terrific melding of the horror and private detective genres. Waggoner’s writing is visually led, and the Blade Runner/Dark City atmosphere is well drawn. Richter, with his seemingly bottomless pockets, makes a good protagonist – a former cop who can’t quite lose all the scruples of his old profession – and the romance between him and part vampire Devona builds at a steady and natural pace. 7/10 – A great start to what is hopefully an ongoing series.”

- Total Sci Fi

“Nekropolis is like nothing I’ve ever ‘seen’ before. Waggoner doesn’t pull his punches; from page one you’re up to your ears in new creatures, established rules, and a city that’s the underbelly of the underbelly of Hell… Inventive? Absolutely. Icky? You could say that. But, man, I had to keep reading to find out if Waggoner could one-up himself. I liked Nekropolis, was intrigued by it, and I’ve got to say, Matt Richter is a zombie to watch.”

Page 1 of 4 | Next page