Mockingbird by Chuck Wendig

“Balls-to-the-wall, take-no-prisoners storytelling at its best.”
Bill Cameron, author of County Line.

Mockingbird, by Chuck WendigMiriam is trying to keep her ability – her curse – in check.

But when Miriam touches a woman in line at the supermarket, she sees that the woman will be killed here, now.

She reacts, and begins a new chapter in her life – one which can never be expected to go well.

File Under: Urban Fantasy [ Touch of Death | Futures & Pasts | Unlucky Louis | Enduring ]

Book Info:
The Second Miriam Black Novel

UK Print
Date: 6th September 2012
ISBN: 9780857662323
Format: Medium (B-Format) Paperback
R.R.P.: £8.99

US/CAN Print
Date: 28th August 2012
ISBN: 9780857662330
Format: Large (Trade) Paperback OR Small (Mass-Market) Paperback
R.R.P.: US$14.99 CAN$16.99 OR US$7.99 / CAN$9.99

Ebook
Date: 28th August 2012
ISBN: 9780857662347
Format: Epub & Mobi
R.R.P.: £5.49 / US$6.99

More Books in This Series:

1. Blackbirds (May 2012)
3. The Cormorant (January 2014)

More Angry Robot Books by Chuck Wendig:

The Mookie Pearl Series

1. The Blue Blazes (June 2013)
2. The Hellsblood Bride (March 2015)

Buying Info:

UK Print & Ebook
Amazon.co.uk | Book Depository | Waterstones | WHSmith

North American Print & Ebook
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | BarnesandNoble.com | IndieBound.org

Global DRM-Free Epub Ebook
Robot Trading Company

back to top

Author Info:

Chuck Wendig: WWW | @chuckwendig on Twitter

Discuss and Share:

Discuss and Review Mockingbird at Goodreads.com

Read an Extract:

Read, download, share and embed via Issuu.com

Praise and Reviews:

“This book is a treat for the horror fan, filled with cinematic moments and genuine spookiness … Fans of American Gothic and The Lost Room will find themselves on familiar ground and will lap this up.”
– Ed Fortune, Starburst Magazine

“Wendig has come up with a killer that is at least as scary as Hannibal Lector. There were scenes that were downright flawless in their creepiness. I doubt I’ll ever look at crows the same way again.”
– Keith West, Adventures Fantastic

“Miriam is out doing her thing and it’s un-putdownable stuff. I read this in two days, and would’ve happily nailed it in one if work hadn’t got in the way.”
– Zoe Oliver, Fantasy Bytes

“The writing and pacing is done well and really sucks you in. I destroyed this book in two days, and wished that the next one was out as well … The story is bleak, dark and gory. Despair and death seems to be everywhere. It’s amazing.”
– Johann Pollard, at Fantasy Opinion

“Horrifying, dark, and disturbing. It is Chuck Wendig doing what he does best.”
– Jenny Colvin, Reading Envy

“This was an amazing book that literally had me on edge until the end. I loved every minute”
– Heidi Holzinger, Open Book Society

Mockingbird, dare I say, is even better than its predecessor, a heady feat considering the pressure of novels written in series format. Chuck Wendig delivers on the promise he established in Blackbirds. The continuing saga of Miriam Black never lags with its hairpin plot turns and freakishly ornate imagery. It is a book that, once consumed, will leave you famished for the next installment.”
– Jennifer Sommersby, LitStack

“Wendig writes snappy prose that is filled with attitude. He has a knack for making obnoxious characters endearing … The novel’s abundant action scenes are blistering, and just when you least expect it, Wendig adds a touch of sweetness to the story.”
– TChris, Tzer Island

“Lawbreaking, violence, serious injury, vulgarity, deeply seated family issues, horrific visions, and life-changing decisions abound, and there’s no denying that there are few limits on what the author puts both the characters and the reader through. I wouldn’t have had it any other way.”
The Romanceaholic

“Chuck Wendig’s mind is a terrifying, twisted, fascinating thing, and thank goodness he puts this stuff down on paper for the rest of us. Darker than dark, Mockingbird will take you on a journey you won’t soon forget, so fortify your stomach and settle in, because you’re going to want to read this one in one sitting.”
– Kristin, My Bookish Ways

“All the strengths which made [Blackbirds] so fantastic return here – great pacing, taught plotting, laugh-out-loud language, and the empathy he has with his damaged protagonist. He continues to blend genres like someone who’s written 20 novels, not just two or three.”
– RoughJustice, Crime Fiction Lover

“…a fresh voice in the often overloaded urban fantasy market with a memorable protagonist and a universe that manages to be both unique and just one step away from the real world we live in.”
Andrew Jack Writing

“I love the way Wendig writes, he manages to make the prose feel both personal and accessible; lively and energetic and yet with a seriously bleak feel that has death lurking just out of sight. He also writes without any pretense, all of his creations are painted in various shades of grey and each could very well be real people; he seems to understand the human psyche very well.”
– Ant, SFBook.com

“I think we may have to start collectively fearing this author. I mean, I can only assume that Mr Wendig has made some sort of Faustian deal with the Dark Gods. Perhaps his books, and their addictive crack-like quality, are only the first step in some far more diabolical scheme?”
– Pablocheesecake, The Eloquent Page

“Author Chuck Wendig does an extraordinary job of keeping readers on the edge of their seat just long enough so he can push them over an enormous cliff of absolute madness. Mockingbird is a rare gem of dirty, dangerous, insane fun!”
– Diayll at Mother/Gamer/Writer

“In Mockingbird, Wendig offers a master class in writing suspense and horror. Seriously.”
Leah Rhyne

“A dark and gritty page-turner. Wendig’s second Miriam Black novel is a brilliant read and just as enjoyable as the first.”
– Bane of Kings, The Founding Fields

“Wendig’s writing style is tight, fluid, and gripping, making the story easy to pick up and tough to put down … I would highly recommend Mockingbird to any mature reader who enjoys a little piss in their Cheerios.”
– Jessica Nelson AllwaysUnmended

“I cannot enumerate the many ways in which this novel will likely give you nightmares, but the story is so good that it’s worth a few restless nights.”
– Kristin, Owlcat Mountain

“Bursting with black comedy, and social commentary, Mockingbird is a tour-de-force of horror fantasy … This is an excellent book, with plenty of character interaction, brutal murders and laughs aplenty despite the grim material. Wendig never fails to deliver. He is a name to be watched.”
– Theresa Derwin, Terror Tree

Mockingbird rocked! I burned through it like it was nobody’s business even though I was trying not to read so fast. I loved the hell out of it and can’t wait for the next book…”
Raymond M. Rose

Mockingbird, like Blackbirds, isn’t for the easily offended or weirded out and definitely not for the faint of heart, but if you like your urban fantasy dark, brutal and unforgiving then you shouldn’t miss reading Miriam Black’s adventures.”
– Mieneke van der Salm, A Fantastical Librarian

“An awesome follow up to Blackbirds … I highly recommend this series to you if you think you can handle the blood, gore and foul language.”
– Shaheen, Speculating on Spec Fic

“It’s a fast, punchy novel that will be a joy to anyone who likes their fantasy genre to be saturated with dark humour, pounding rain and a sense of fate holding all the cards.”
– Michael Record, Electric Banana

“What appears to be a simple ‘find the serial killer’ story at first delves down a few blind alleys before unravelling in a bizarre and stunning way. And even when the story does move in a linear manner, it’s highly entertaining.”
– Ed Grabianowski, IO9.com

“Chuck Wendig’s Mockingbird is a fast-paced and horrific urban fantasy with sharp dialogue, nuanced characters, and an original voice in a glutted genre. Wendig grabs you by the collar then throws you down a set of literary stairs and leaves you begging for more.”
– Ashik at The Ranting Dragon

Mockingbird is a hard edged thriller, with gory action and plenty of mystery. Handle with care.”
Hannah Mariska, My Book Journey

Mockingbird is the book you wanted to write but never did. It’s a bubbly tonic for your black soul. It needs to be read by you. And it needs to be read now.”
Trent Smith, Pulp 300

“This is an earthy book, descriptive and dark, with black comedy at the oddest places. Miriam is a hardboiled heroine, who doesn’t pull her punches or her speech. For fans of horror and paranormal, this is well worth the read.”
Geek Syndicate Quarterly (big pdf)

“We are treated to a more richly defined universe, even more menacing villains, and a greater exploration into Black’s twisted and fascinating psychology.”
Adventures in Poor Taste

back to top