The Kitschies – Angry Robot shortlisted for TWO awards


In just a few short years* the Kitschies have established themselves as one of the more interesting genre awards.

The Kitschies celebrate progressiveintelligent and entertaining books that contain fantastic or speculative elements. In previous years, Angry Robot has won the Red Tentacle with Zoo City by Lauren Beukes and the Golden Tentacle with King Maker by Maurice Broaddus.

The Kitschies present four awards:

The Red Tentacle (Novel)
The Golden Tentacle (Debut Novel)
The Inky Tentacle (Cover Art) and
The Black Tentacle (Could be anything/anyone – awarded at judges’ discretion)

This year we are delighted to announce that we have a book shortlisted for the Golden Tentacle and the Inky Tentacle.

Costume Not Included, by Matthew Hughes - artwork by Tom Gauld

vN by Madeline Ashby is shortlisted for the Golden Tentacle.

The cover of Matthew Hughes’ Costume Not Included (artwork by Tom Gauld) is shortlisted for the Inky Tentacle.

The Tentacles will be awarded at a ceremony at the Free Word Centre in London on February 26th.

Here are the full lists of finalists. Good luck to them all – they’re all worthy of winning!

The Golden Tentacle (Debut), judged by Rebecca Levene, Patrick Ness and Jared Shurin:

  • Madeline Ashby, vN (Angry Robot)
  • Jenni Fagan, The Panopticon (William Heinemann)
  • Rachel Hartman, Seraphina (Doubleday)
  • Karen Lord, Redemption in Indigo (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Tom Pollock, The City’s Son (Jo Fletcher Books)

The Red Tentacle (Novel), judged by Rebecca Levene, Patrick Ness and Jared Shurin:

  • Jesse Bullington, The Folly of the World (Orbit)
  • Nick Harkaway, Angelmaker (William Heinemann)
  • Frances Hardinge, A Face Like Glass (Macmillan Children’s)
  • Adam Roberts, Jack Glass (Gollancz)
  • Julie Zeh (translated by Sally-Ann Spencer), The Method (Harvill Secker)

The Inky Tentacle (Cover Art), judged by Lauren O’Farrell, Gary Northfield and Ed Warren:

  • Tom Gauld, Costume Not Included by Matthew Hughes (Angry Robot)
  • Oliver Jeffers, The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket by John Boyne (Doubleday)
  • Peter Mendelsund, The Flame Alphabet by Ben Marcus (Granta)
  • La Boca, The Teleportation Accident by Ned Beauman (Sceptre)
  • Dave Shelton, A Boy and a Bear in a Boat by Dave Shelton (David Fickling Books)

The Inky Tentacle finalists


*The years weren’t particularly short, to be honest – one of them was a day longer than the others, but that’s about it.

Tell Your Friends:

Categories : Angry Robot

Leave a Comment