Sep
14

Robot Round-Up, 14.09.12

By

Hello, hello and welcome to this week’s Robot Round-Up. Our compiler ‘bot lost his Internet connection for an hour this afternoon, just as he was making a start on this write-up. So seeing as he has at least one eye-module on the rapidly-approaching hour of beer o’clock, you’ll have to excuse him if he skips the intro and gets the heck on with it…

The Corpse-Rat King, by Lee BattersbyWe’ve seen a couple more cracking reviews of Lee Battersby‘s extraordinary fantasy debut, The Corpse-Rat King this week:
• There was a Starred Review in Publishers Weekly: “Wry, absurdist, and pleasantly cynical, Battersby’s debut will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora and Terry Pratchett’s Going Postal.”
• Mihir at Fantasy Book Critic called it: “a curious mix of dark humor and even darker shade of fantasy” and also said: “It promises a different sort of read and delivers exceptionally on its word.”

Lee has written a guest post for Fantasy Book Critic on the subject of being weird. He’s been talking to The Qwillery and they’re giving away a copy of the book as well. Plus: The Corpse-Rat King got a mention in The Pretty Good Gatsby’s Teaser Tuesday post, in case you feel like being teased.

The reviews of Chuck Wendig‘s awesome Mockingbird continue to come marching in:
• Diayll at Mother/Gamer/Writer said: “Author Chuck Wendig does an extraordinary job of keeping readers on the edge of their seat just long enough so he can push them over an enormous cliff of absolute madness. Mockingbird is a rare gem of dirty, dangerous, insane fun!”
Leah Rhyne said: “In Mockingbird, Wendig offers a master class in writing suspense and horror. Seriously.”
• Alan at Thirteen O’Clock said: “Urban fantasy, horror and thriller all rolled into one. Delicious. Five stars.”
• Tabitha at My Shelf Confessions called it: “Grossly dark and twisted in the best kind of way!”

Stefan Raets has re-posted his Tor.com review at his own blog Far Beyond Reality and is hosting a competition to win a copy of the book as well. And Kayte-Kat reviewed the first Miriam Black book, Blackbirds, for The Founding Fields, saying: “Readers will enjoy a fast read, vivid details, and often disturbing visuals of death. This book is not for the reader looking for light and whispy. Instead, down-right dark and often profane scenery carries the reader through to the very end.”

Seven Wonders, by Adam ChristopherAdam Christopher‘s explosive Seven Wonders was reviewed by Erik at I Will Read Books: “the atmosphere, and the world building, is spot on. The super powered fighting also has the right comic book feel to them, but with a more adult touch to them, where there is actual bloodshed. Adam Christopher has once again brought something new to a old genre.” Erik’s hosting a giveaway as well. Go! Enter! Win book! Be happy!

There’s a dual-review of Chris F. Holm‘s first two Collector books, Dead Harvest (out now!) and The Wrong Goodbye (out next month!), at Untitled*United, where Mikel says: “Chris Holm’s real talent is keeping the plot moving at breakneck pace. He doesn’t set a ticking clock, but he effectively drives home the danger of every delay, and builds action sequences that race along.!

Paul S. Kemp‘s feast for sword and sorcery fans, The Hammer and The Blade was reviewed by Axie, writing for the Sacramento and San Francisco Book Review: “The Hammer and the Blade is an instant classic, with its punchy sense of humor, likeable heroes, and fast-paced, creative fight sequences.”

Lave Tidhar took a look at David Tallerman‘s Giant Thief and dubbed it the first example of slacker fantasy, which he also declares is no bad thing: “It seems to me that Tallerman is doing something deceptively clever in this book or, at any rate, something new to fantasy.”

And Lavie Tidhar’s own The Great Game was reviewed by Gail at Disorganised, as Usual, who said “This is a wild and imaginative adventure through London and Paris as Tidhar loots both history and literature for a diverse cast of characters to weave together in a very satisfyingly wild universe.”

Blast from the Past: Tim Waggoner‘s Nekropolis was reviewed by Zoe at Urban Fantasy Fiend, who greatly enjoyed the characterisation and world-building in the series-opener: “A self-willed, ex-cop Zombie PI isn’t something you get to read about everyday. There are no end of beasties here to enjoy, from giant insects to Warlocks and Ghouls. Waggoner world builds brilliantly.”

Meanwhile, Jo Anderton and her dog, Gully, have been interviewed by Marshal Coffee With a Canine….

And Finally…

Geek Maestro John Anealio has released an Acoustic version of the Angry Robot theme song. Go! Listen! Singalonga Robot!

Plus, according to IO9.com, “Robots that can do crazy futuristic stuff” is one of 9 Overlooked Technologies That Could Transform The World. Well hey, we like to think we’re doing what we can…

That’s all for this week. Come back next week for more Angry Robot link-outs and shout-outs (hopefully at a slightly earlier time, Internet connection allowing…)

Buffer this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponShare on RedditDigg thisEmail this to someone

Leave a Comment